Tax/investment advice for charity worker.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
happytraveller

Tax/investment advice for charity worker.

Post by happytraveller » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:29 pm

Starting June 2016, I made the investments listed below. I have no home base and travel from project to project volunteering for NGOs around the world. I am not very good at fundraising so most of the expenses are on my own dime, spending around $25-35,000 annually. I'm predicting gross income for 2018 to be around $26k (approx. $1-1.5k will be LTCG from bonds/Wellesley, $3,300 interest income, $22,700 in dividends). Dividends are currently reinvested and I have been drawing from cash kept in a credit union.

My immediate concern is that I will get bumped out of my health plan for earning over $24,100. Will tax loss harvesting will help me reduce my MAGI? I have unrealized losses on the bond funds but want to be sure that I understand this correctly.

My longer term concern is that my portfolio should be more tax-efficient so that I can continue full-time volunteering without compromising my retirement. I claim the standard deduction as opposed to detailing expenses and my accountant tells me that I’m not in a position to further invest in Roths/IRAs. I’m open to increasing my exposure to stocks up to 70-75% if necessary and am not too concerned about panic selling as I would be comfortable waiting it out in countries with low living costs.

I hold both an American and English passport but spend little time in either country.

All advice and suggestions are welcome but I would like to keep it pretty simple so that I can understand what I’m doing and why. Thank you in advance for your time.

Debt: nil
Tax filing status: single
State of Residence: New York
2017 tax bracket 15%
Current Allocation:
Cash