Mutual Fund Generated Income

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Musigny

Mutual Fund Generated Income

Post by Musigny »

I'm new to investing in mutual funds in a non-tax-advantaged account like an IRA or 401(k).

I want to run some numbers to see what kind of taxable income VTSAX would generate per year. If I retire early, I'm trying to put together a budget and see what my options are for health insurance. Obamacare has lower premiums for $65K and under household incomes.

What am I looking for in historical data to show what income was generated per share and thus taxable for the shareholder.

Thanks for any help/guidance.
krow36

Re: Mutual Fund Generated Income

Post by krow36 »

PFInterest

Post by PFInterest »

We'll look at the dividend. Its like 1.8% and like 99% qualified.
There's your answer.
Topic Author
Musigny

Post by Musigny »

krow36 wrote: Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:02 pm Here's 15 years worth:
https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-fu ... ve-returns
Thanks you! Would a shareholder be taxed on the columns Capital return and Income return in any given year?
Topic Author
Musigny

Post by Musigny »

PFInterest wrote: Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:02 pm We'll look at the dividend. Its like 1.8% and like 99% qualified.
There's your answer.
Thank you. Is there no Capital Gain realized? What does 'qualified' mean?

Thanks again.
krow36

Post by krow36 »

Musigny wrote: Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:13 am
krow36 wrote: Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:02 pm Here's 15 years worth:
https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-fu ... ve-returns
Thanks you! Would a shareholder be taxed on the columns Capital return and Income return in any given year?