Draft Portfolio Check - From 34 down to 8 funds

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
fundmental

Draft Portfolio Check - From 34 down to 8 funds

Post by fundmental »

I am new to the Boglehead forum, but I’ve been a Bogle follower for a long time. My retirement portfolio is with Vanguard and consists of a SEP-IRA (which I try to max out each year) and a rollover IRA. Over the years, I have been able to stick with my target asset allocation and tilt towards value. I did this despite having 34 funds between the two IRA’s. I finally got to simplifying this to make management easier.

I used the awesome Portfolio Tester tool on Vanguard’s website to reduce my portfolio from 34 funds to 8 while sticking close to my allocation target. The comparison report shows that my average expense ratio improves from .14% to .10% . I’d like your feedback on this new portfolio, as I plan to stick with this for a while and rebalance over the time horizon I have (15-20 years).

One Question/Concern:
My past bond holdings were divided between Short Term Index (VBIRX) and TIPS (VIPSX). Now my plan is to hold the total bond market fund, and this was done to simplify my portfolio. This was one area I had concern with given the increased interest rate sensitivity but I am not sure how others felt about the total bond fund.

Other information: I don’t include other assets in my retirement portfolio, although I have a vacation property which I plan to move into come “retirement”.

My Draft Portfolio (from 34 down to 8 funds).

SEP-IRA (added to each year)
Vanguard Total Stock Market Fund 20.15%
Vanguard Total International Stock Market Fund 15.00% (replaces VPADX, VEURX among others)
Vanguard Total Bond Market Fund 20.00%
Vanguard High Dividend 13.00%
Vanguard Morgan Growth Fund 10.00% (my one actively managed fund; growth index fund VIGAX could replace)