How long does an ACH transfer to checking usually take?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Eureka

How long does an ACH transfer to checking usually take?

Post by Eureka » Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:35 pm

I was going to transfer some money from my Federal Money Market Fund (non-IRA) to my bank checking account this afternoon. I have never done this before. I have had bank transfer for years, but I've only used it for IRA distributions. Vanguard said the money won't be in my checking account until Monday, November 26 -- six days from now. I don't think an IRA distribution has ever taken that long to get transferred.

I'm starting to wonder what the point is, as I can write a check on the same money market fund, drive a mile to my bank and have the money today, or tomorrow or Friday or Saturday. I'm not impressed.

jebmke

Re: How long does an ACH transfer to checking usually take?

Post by jebmke » Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:37 pm

I normally do a bank transfer in the morning. Funds hit my USAA bank account the next day.
When you discover that you are riding a dead horse, the best strategy is to dismount.

sailaway

Post by sailaway » Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:41 pm

It depends on a lot of factors, but mostly what the institution wants to do for a specific kind of account. I can do a same day transfer for a large fee, a next day transfer for considerably less and a five day transfer for a negligible fee.

Eureka

Post by Eureka » Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:42 pm

jebmke wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:37 pm
I normally do a bank transfer in the morning. Funds hit my USAA bank account the next day.

So the difference between doing it in the morning and afternoon is five days?! That's nuts.

sailaway

Post by sailaway » Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:44 pm

Eureka wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:42 pm
jebmke wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:37 pm

So the difference between doing it in the morning and afternoon is five days?! That's nuts.