How much is too much in savings account?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Wilhou2015

How much is too much in savings account?

Post by Wilhou2015 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:58 pm

Hello everyone,

To give a little bit of background, I am very new to investing of any sort, but eager to learn.

I am 25 and saving about $2,000-$2,500 per month right now. I have a Roth IRA through Vanguard (VFIFX), which is maxed out. I plan to max out my 401k match once I’m eligible to in 2019. As of right now, beyond my Roth IRA, all of my money saved is going straight to a savings account.

My question is - how much is too much to be sitting in a savings account? Could I reallocate my savings in a better way that could be earning money?

Would love to hear from many of you. Thanks in advance.

mhalley

Re: How much is too much in savings account?

Post by mhalley » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:18 pm

A general rule of thumb is to have 3 to 6 months of expenses in an emergency fund such as a saving account. After that, what you do with the money depends on the goal. Money that is to be used within 5 years should be saved, not invested. Money for use in greater than five years can be invested.

Watty

Post by Watty » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:28 pm

I would suspect that the money might eventually be used for things like buying a car, a house downpayment, a vacation, moving to a new apartment, etc.

If that is the case then a savings account is fine, but you should find one that pays a reasonable amount of interest, some of the local banks pay next to nothing.

longleaf

Post by longleaf » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:29 pm