Complete newbie here! Would like help determining Roth vs Traditional IRA...

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
IWTLinvesting

Complete newbie here! Would like help determining Roth vs Traditional IRA...

Post by IWTLinvesting »

Hi all!

New guy here looking to dive into indexing! I've read a couple of the Bogleheads' books (Little Book of Common Sense and Guide to Investing), but I still had a few questions before I'm ready to get started I think...

1st of which... Roth or Traditional? I know one of the books had some rules of thumb, and I've read through the relevant posts on the PersonalFinance subreddit, but still feel a little lost.

I'm 24, wife is 26, and we currently make about ~$120K combined. I would like to retire around 55ish. I expect that our combined household income once we are 55 will be ~$225K. In other words, I'd expect my tax rate to be higher in 30 years. However... if I am retired, would I actually be in a lower tax bracket, since I wouldn't have a salary from a job anymore?

Or am I completely misunderstanding?

Thanks in advance! I apologize if I have more basic questions or if I've posted this in the wrong area!

Edit to add more information:

I will be able to contribute to my employer 401K in two more months and I don't believe either of us will be eligible for any kind of pension, at least not at our current jobs.
Last edited by IWTLinvesting on Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
David Jay

Re: Complete newbie here! Would like help determining Roth vs Traditional IRA...

Post by David Jay »

Welcome to the forum.

One of our resources is the Bogleheads Wiki. It has a bunch of information, including a page on this exact issue here: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Traditional_versus_Roth