Collective Investment Trust choice in 401k

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
workerbeeengineer

Collective Investment Trust choice in 401k

Post by workerbeeengineer » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:24 pm

My company is rolling out a new set of fund choices for the 401k. To help achieve a total US stock market exposure I’ll need to utilize an Extended Market Collective Investment Trust from State Street. ER is very reasonable, but I have no experience with CITs. I believe there is less transparency with CITs and daily pricing is not available. I am comfortable overall with State Street, it’s the CIT nature of the fund that makes me hesitate. Any general comments on CITs from my fellow BHs or corrections on my understanding of how CITs work? Thanks

FiveK

Re: Collective Investment Trust choice in 401k

Post by FiveK » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:27 pm

workerbeeengineer wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:24 pm
Any general comments on CITs from my fellow BHs or corrections on my understanding of how CITs work? Thanks
Megacorp's CITs have very low expense ratios and track similar Vanguard funds very well.

JoMoney

Post by JoMoney » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:32 pm

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Collect ... ent_Trusts

https://www.bogleheads.org/blog/what-is ... ent-trust/

They are more difficult to get information on, they don't follow the disclosure requirements the SEC would require for a mutual fund.
They are regulated, but by the Office of Comptroller of Currency, who regulates Banks and Trusts.
CITs are broadly considered as safe as mutual funds. There is an argument that can be made that the regulatory compliance and fiduciary responsibility is even greater on a CIT because of the nature of it being a trust inside an ERISA account.
"To achieve satisfactory investment results is easier than most people realize; to achieve superior results is harder than it looks." - Benjamin Graham

workerbeeengineer