how to put different ETF in different accounts

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
kdlinvest

how to put different ETF in different accounts

Post by kdlinvest » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:37 am

Hi, I'm a new boglehead here after reading bogleheads 3-fund portfolio and I decided to follow this seemingly easy investment strategy for my retirement investment.

I'd like to hear your valuable advise/inputs here as I'm new to this and I'd like to find out if I'm doing the right things. Here's some background information and objectives and projected annual saving.

- I'm in my mid-forties, married with 2 young kids (1-2 y/o)

- Goal: We are frugal and saving for retirement to be able to retire in next 6 years is our goal.

- Current asset: I have the following accounts: a taxable account of 800K, tax-deferred company defined benefit of 220K, 401K of me and my wife each 60K and 40K, tax-free roth IRA for me and my wife, 170k and 40k each, and finally a tax-free health-saving-account of 12k.

- Besides primary residence with a good amount of equity, I do not own any other investment (no rental properties, etc.)

- Projected saving: We're planning to invest the following ANNUALLY: about 100K into our DB, 20K to my 401K, 10K to my wife's 401K, 7K to our HSA account to max out these tax-favorable accounts. In addition, we are putting in 20K to our taxable account MONTHLY.

I'd appreciate your thoughtful advises/suggestions for the following questions.

1) we have about 1.3 million of investable asset. Should I hire a professional manager to manage it for me? I understand bogleheads advocates for low fee index fund investing. But what're the pros/cons of hiring a financial advisor in consideration of my asset in terms of planning for early retirement in next 6 years?