Short term investing

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
ooo

Short term investing

Post by ooo » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:26 pm

Hi,

I have about $130k sitting in a 1.85% APY savings account. I plan on using this towards a downpayment in ~1 year. My tolerance for risk is high--I can withstand losing a large portion of that money (and delaying the purchase). I have been contemplating dumping all of it in a brokerage account into something like VOOG, with the intention of pulling it out in no less than a year to avoid short-term capital gains tax.

I'm new to investing in a taxable account so I'm unsure if it's unwise to be holding securities for only a year.

Thanks!

JoeRetire

Re: Short term investing

Post by JoeRetire » Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:52 pm

ooo wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:26 pm
I have about $130k sitting in a 1.85% APY savings account. I plan on using this towards a downpayment in ~1 year. My tolerance for risk is high--I can withstand losing a large portion of that money (and delaying the purchase).
Why was it sitting in a savings account?

ThePrince

Post by ThePrince » Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:55 pm

If the intention is for this money to constitute an emergency fund, take a look at Betterment’s Safety Net Portfolio.

Flyer24

Post by Flyer24 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:42 pm

Anything less than 5 years should not be in the stock market. I would just put the money in a CD or treasuries.

Fallible

Post by Fallible » Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:19 pm

ooo wrote:
Hi,
I have about $130k sitting in a 1.85% APY savings account. I plan on using this towards a downpayment in ~1 year. My tolerance for risk is high--I can withstand losing a large portion of that money (and delaying the purchase). I have been contemplating dumping all of it in a brokerage account into something like VOOG, with the intention of pulling it out in no less than a year to avoid short-term capital gains tax.