Novice question

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Old Man

Novice question

Post by Old Man » Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:23 pm

I am an 82 year old, fairly healthy, happily married, with one son (gainfully employed) and two grandsons in high school. I have no experience in this investing game. My home is mortgage free, we have lived within our means on my pension and social security income of about $108,000 annually. My life insurance policy is worth $72,000. A very recent car sale has put almost $3 million in my bank account after the tax hits. Of that I plan on covering our grandson’s college education and subsequent 20 years of minimum monthly income small enough that they will need to get a job but will not go hungry. To accomplish that plan I expect to put a little over $1 million into 509 and trust accounts. That leaves a balance of just under $2 million. Sitting in a checking account with today’s interest rates will watch it vanish with inflation. My wife and I plan on aging in place with home health care as needed.

For my age and looking at the Laura suggestions for allocation it would appear that I should be looking at about 20/70/10 (stocks, bonds, cash). I have knowledgeable help available for the stocks portion. In looking at the YTD Vanguard numbers for mutuals (bonds and money markets) it seems that I can find one year to 18 month CD’s with better returns at the moment. Is there good reason for not using the CDs vs mutuals over the next year or two.

Appreciate any suggestions/guidance on this query.

grabiner
Advisory Board

Re: Novice question

Post by grabiner » Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:33 pm

Welcome to the forum!
Old Man wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:23 pm
In looking at the YTD Vanguard numbers for mutuals (bonds and money markets) it seems that I can find one year to 18 month CD’s with better returns at the moment. Is there good reason for not using the CDs vs mutuals over the next year or two.