Ally Savings vs Vanguard Prime Money Market Fund - Need Advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Investing.Newbie

Ally Savings vs Vanguard Prime Money Market Fund - Need Advice

Post by Investing.Newbie » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:16 am

Hello All

I'm new to money market accounts and need your advice. I have the following questions.

1. How do I calculate the interest rate for money market account ?
For example Vanguard prime money market fund (VMMXX) SEC yield 2.11% C Compound yield 2.13% ?

2. I have around $40,000 emergency fund in Ally savings (1.85% interest compounded daily).

3. Does it make any sense to move this to Vanguard prime money market fund (VMMXX) SEC yield 2.11% C Compound yield 2.13% ?

Thanks once again for all your help !

bikechuck

Re: Ally Savings vs Vanguard Prime Money Market Fund - Need Advice

Post by bikechuck » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:26 am

The Ally savings a/c is FDIC insured. Don't think that is true of the money market fund.

Investing.Newbie

Post by Investing.Newbie » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:31 am

bikechuck wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:26 am
The Ally savings a/c is FDIC insured. Don't think that is true of the money market fund.
Thanks for the response ... is there any significant difference in the amount of interest generated by these two accounts for a principal of $40,000 ?
Thanks !

wriley4409

Post by wriley4409 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:55 am

There is a $112 per year difference in earnings between those two accounts for the $40,000 balance. I personally wouldn't put ALL of my cash in an un-insured money market account, however I do split my cash between a local credit union (roughly 1/3), Ally.com online savings (1/3), and VMMXX (1/3).

Investing.Newbie

Post by Investing.Newbie » Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:04 pm

Good advice wriley ... Thanks !

peterinjapan

Post by peterinjapan » Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:08 pm