What can go wrong in shorting Tilray, and can EU investors short it (and how?)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Lauretta

What can go wrong in shorting Tilray, and can EU investors short it (and how?)

Post by Lauretta » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:55 am

I have read about the cannabis stock Tilray, which has 28M$ in sales and a market cap of over 14B$; its price has gone up fivefold in six months and I've seen that even people who bought it 6 months ago are now shorting it.
With this market cap at 500 times sales the valuations seems absurd. So I thought about shorting it too. My questions:
-what can go wrong (I've never done it before)? Is it just a question that if it takes long enough for the price to come down, I might lose money in the mean time due to the costs of borrowing the stock?
-do you know what's the easiest way for a EU investor to do it? Would I need to open a brokerage account in the US?
When everyone is thinking the same, no one is thinking at all

Valuethinker

Re: What can go wrong in shorting Tilray, and can EU investors short it (and how?)

Post by Valuethinker » Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:05 am

Lauretta wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:55 am
I have read about the cannabis stock Tilray, which has 28M$ in sales and a market cap of over 14B$; its price has gone up fivefold in six months and I've seen that even people who bought it 6 months ago are now shorting it.
With this market cap at 500 times sales the valuations seems absurd. So I thought about shorting it too. My questions:
-what can go wrong (I've never done it before)? Is it just a question that if it takes long enough for the price to come down, I might lose money in the mean time due to the costs of borrowing the stock?
Short covering. Your short position is by definition on margin - you have borrowed the money because you borrowed the stock and sold it.