Investing Portfolio Mix

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
cmauss

Investing Portfolio Mix

Post by cmauss » Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:41 am

I wanted to get some advise for setting up my portfolio. Some background I am 29, in the military and my wife also works. Our pretax combined income is approx 150k and we have a 2.5 year old child. I have been maxing out my Roth for the last 6 years and my wife has for the last 4 years. I have also opted into the military blended retirement system, and with the match am contributing 10% to my Roth TSP. We also have a vanguard 529 plan for my daughter.We recently purchased a house with a 2k mortgage payment. The only debt that either of us have is the mortgage. We have atleast $1000 a month that we can continue to invest. The goal of our investing would be to have the option to basically retire by the time were 50 and have enough money to bring us out to retirement age.

This said I think we are on track for our post 60 years. My concers are more in the 30-50 year old range. I was stationed overseas for 2 years and was able to save a lot. Now we have about 70k just sitting in a bank and need to invest it. I have read bogleheads guide to investing and common sense investing, as well as several other books and want to make the leap. These books pitch index funds very heavily against standard mutual funds, ispecially actively managed ones. should I be looking at putting the majority of my money into an index fund like the Vanguard 500 and not worry about diversifying the portfolio. Or should I be looking into ETFs, bonds, mutual funds etc? We also want to keep around 15k in emergency funds. should we be keeping this money in a standard bank account or should we put that in a Money Market?

Thankyou for the help!
Craig

bloom2708

Re: Investing Portfolio Mix

Post by bloom2708 » Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:20 pm

Welcome and thank you for your service!