Self Directed Accnt at BOA's Merrill Edge. Hidden Fees ?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Gaspar18

Self Directed Accnt at BOA's Merrill Edge. Hidden Fees ?

Post by Gaspar18 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:35 am

Hello everyone, i'm a novice investor..

It looks like I will be rolling an IRA into a SELF DIRECTED ACCOUNT at BOA's Merrill Edge.

I asked about the fees. They said there are three fees.

1. The annual expense ratio of the passive index funds that I will purchase (between 0.04% and 0.14% - dep on the fund)
2. $19.95 per trade (I am going to hold the funds long term, minimal trading)
3. The investment guy at the BOA branch will get a commission for setting this account up for me (I'm a bank customer), but the bank will pay it. It won't come from my funds.

-- > Are there any other fees that they are not telling me ? < ---

Thanks for your time and info.
Last edited by Gaspar18 on Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Ragnoth

Re: Self Directed Accnt at BOA's Merrill Edge. Hidden Fees ?

Post by Ragnoth » Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:53 am

I have a Merril Edge accout.

I don’t know of any other “secret fees.” However, most people that move to Merril Edge are hoping to have a large enough balance to get free ETF/Stock trades through their preferred rewards program (I think 50k minimum).

If you aren’t going well to be getting free trades, you might be able to find cheaper services elsewhere. Depending on the size of your account, you are either (1) being pushed into an unnecessarily expensive service, or (2) not being advertised the actual advantages of the account. I would trust the ME website and their customer service line to walk you through this better than the people working in the local branch.

livesoft

Post by livesoft » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:02 am

Maybe.