Push some of my house down payment fund in the market?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Met Income

Post by Met Income »

I'm a 25 year old with an above average income and a very stable job (soon to be a CPA).

I contribute 15% of my salary to the 401K and have contributed the full amount to my IRA every year since I've been working (since 2005). Right now, these assets are worth about $25,000.

Whatever has been left over has gone into a money market account to save for a house. It's up to $30,000 right now. Unless the northern NJ RE market takes a huge hit, I believe that I will need about $50,000 to comfortably put 20% down with closing costs and have some cash left over for new house appliances and furniture.

I do not have a strong desire to buy a house. I enjoy my freedom as a renter and am not sure I want to be in this area long-term. I could possibly leave my job next year as well. I would like to have a house within 10 years, though.

I think the current market is a nice opportunity for me to make some long-term gains. I am thinking about putting a significant amount of my cash into tax efficient index funds with a long-term horizon.

I am not expecting this to pay off within 5 or even 10 years. I hope within 20 years that it will. I believe I'll retire between 50-60 years so if it works out in 25-35 years, I won't be disappointed.

I also should mention that I believe my risk tolerance is as high as I thought it would be. This downturn has not affected me one iota. Granted, it has not been that long. But I am young enough to view this as an opportunity. If I was 40+, I would feel differently and am sympathetic towards those close to retirement.

I realize that this will push off me having a house for several years. Possibly even a decade. However, I think it will be beneficial to me long-term. What do you think? Thanks in advance!