What's wrong with putting most of my money into two stocks: Alphabet and Amazon?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
steve321

What's wrong with putting most of my money into two stocks: Alphabet and Amazon?

Post by steve321 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:31 pm

I am currently indexing but I am having more and more doubts about my strategy. I have voiced some of my doubts in my thread on Mr West. I am now contemplating the possibility of putting a big chunck of money in Amazon and Alphabet (say 1M£ in each). Here's the reason
1. Alphabet has been compared to a tech stock ETF, because they invest in many small tech companies (besides Google). So it's quite diversified.
2. I've had some experience with Amazon as a customer and I realised that unlike other companies, that are interested in making a quick buck, Amazon is building for the long term future. They want to please you as a customer like nobody else does, it doesn't matter if they lose money through refunding you (no questions asked). This long term mentality is hugely impressive, I think they are set to conquer the world.
So what can go wrong with this? What's the Bogleheads' reason for avoiding such investment style? Alphabet in particular is quite diversified; and Amazon is a formidable business.
Success does not bring happiness. In fact, happiness IS success. | 'There are only two tragedies in life: one is not getting what one wants, and the other is getting it.' Oscar Wilde

wootwoot

Re: What's wrong with putting most of my money into two stocks: Alphabet and Amazon?

Post by wootwoot » Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:32 pm

It's hard to tell if this is a serious question...

UpperNwGuy

Re: What's wrong with putting most of my money into two stocks: Alphabet and Amazon?

Post by UpperNwGuy » Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:35 pm