28 year's old with no retirement savings.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
dks12

28 year's old with no retirement savings.

Post by dks12 » Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:14 am

Bit of background:
I am single and 28 years old with no retirement savings. I just decided to open a Roth IRA through fidelity and am investing into both the new zero ER total market and international index funds. (FZILX & FZROX). I just started learning about this way of investing this past week and am trying to teach myself all I can. I unfortunately never had anyone teach me the value of money and how important this can be and its somewhat freaking me out as well as scaring me. I had some personal setbacks in my early and mid twenties that really caused me not to focus on any sort of financial planning at all and I kind of just pissed any money I made away.

As of now:
I am currently living rent free with my parents while I finish a radiology program to become an x-ray technologist. I have a year left. Living with my parents has allowed me and will allow me to finish this program debt free. I will graduate and take my boards next summer of 2019. I have no other debt and my car, though old, is completely paid off.

My job offers a 403b and matches 5% and still need to sign up for this. Although, because of school, I had to switch to part time. Only working 20 hours between Saturday and Sunday has really taken a toll on what little income I was making. I plan on working for the same company when I graduate in which I will be making more at that time. Reading through here and seeing everyone's savings has me panicking. Because I went part time my health insurance shot up to $210 a paycheck and my take home is only about $300. If i calculated everything right, once I graduate my pay will go up to around $1,900 a month after taxes and health insurance.

Questions: