High Tax Bracket Liquid Assets

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
MiamiHeat

High Tax Bracket Liquid Assets

Post by MiamiHeat »

I am much more of a lurker than poster and first just want to thank the community for being an awesome resource for sound financial advice. You have helped me set up my basic portfolio all by myself with confidence over the last year. I was a student for a long time, accruing debt with nothing to show, and finally am seeing the fruits of my sacrifices and labor.

I am just starting to build up some extra cash after maxing out retirement accounts (and chopping away debt) and know the worst place for all of this money sit in is a brick and mortar bank. My marginal tax rate is 35% federal and about 10% state/city (NY), married filing jointly. I have about 20k cash I'm looking to move from my large chain bank. Overall I am wondering where the best place to put this is right now. Here are the four options I'm considering and also open to others if there are better ones out there:

VMMXX - current yield 2.07%
VMSXX - current yield 1.41%
VYFXX (NY Muni) - current yield 1.41%
Ally or one of the other numerous high yield savings accounts - current rate is 1.80%

A few questions before going forward:

It seems by basic math that, given my high tax bracket, the muni funds seem much more high yield at this time. Am I missing something? From searching this forum I've read the muni funds tend to fluctuate very widely, but for now I want to focus on the current rates. Is the VMSXX fund only exempt from federal taxes and thus if I'm going with a muni it should be the VYFXX which appears to be exempt from state tax as well?

It is my understanding that these MM funds are fairly liquid. You can write checks and deposit into a bank to withdraw as cash within a couple days, is that correct?

Thanks in advance
PFInterest

Re: High Tax Bracket Liquid Assets

Post by PFInterest »