Starting a 529 question

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
MCS23

Starting a 529 question

Post by MCS23 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:35 pm

Hello, beginner here in process of reading the Boglehead’s Guide book and seaking some advice. I’m 31 and we just welcomed our first daughter this year and I want to open a 529 education savings plan (state of Illinois- Bright Start). My husband has bias from talking to coworkers that think it’s a waste of time and there are better routes to college saving, like investing in real estate (tax reasons??). We do have high income as a family (I make approximately 200k annually and his income is usualy around 170k). Is there a disadvantage to investing in a 529 for our daughter? If we do open the 529, should we be the account owner or should she given our personal circumstances? Is there something else I should consider? Your advice is greatly appreciated.

CppCoder

Re: Starting a 529 question

Post by CppCoder » Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:12 pm

There are pros and cons to any investment. You can read extensively about opinions on this forum about 529s with the search button, and the best place I've found to do individual 529 research is

https://www.savingforcollege.com