Newly Married and Hoping to Start on the Right Foot

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
EngineerAndNurse

Newly Married and Hoping to Start on the Right Foot

Post by EngineerAndNurse » Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:36 pm

Hello Bogleheads!

Been reading the books and the forums for years and been doing my best to follow the general advice I’ve read. However, I recently got married and my wife and I purchased a condo so it feels like a good time to let some other people check my work and let me know where I can make improvements. All advice is welcome as I know I have lots to learn. Thank you in advance! I'll give any more info needed, I'm just not sure where to start. We’re both 27 years old. I work as an engineer. She works as a nurse.

Salaries
$166,000
Hers: $85,000
His: $81,000
Living in CA, I think we’ll pay in the neighborhood of $35-40,000 in taxes

Liquid cash
$20k between checkings and savings accounts

Brokerage (emergency-ish fund)
$32,250 and contributing $500 monthly

IRAs
$39,000. Both maxing out at $5,500/year

Sharp$aver (I believe it’s similar to a 401a) and TSP
Her 401a: $41,500 - Contribute 6% ($5,000) to Roth annually and employer contributes additional 4.5% traditional (max contribution allowed)
His TSP: $46,500 - Contribute 10% ($8,100) to Roth annually and employer contributes additional 4% traditional

Cars
2003 Acura CL and 2007 Nissan Murano both fully paid off

Loans
Her student loan: $7400
  • $1800 @ 6.5% - Paying $200/month ($100 over minimum)
  • $5600 @ 3.1% - Paying $100/month (the minimum)
His student loan: $24,250 @ 0%
  • Family member loan. Paying $250/month

Mortgage
Bought a condo at $450,000. Put $100,000k down. Interest is 4.5%. Between utilities, insurance, HOA, and mortgage, we pay $33,500 per year on the property

Other
10% to charity ($16,500/year)
Additional $4,000/year in non-negotiable spending (insurance, internet, phone, etc…)

Flyer24