Asked my advisor about fees and here's their reply

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
johnsac

Asked my advisor about fees and here's their reply

Post by johnsac » Mon Aug 13, 2018 7:07 pm

I'm new to the Boglehead/Vanguard approach, and have taken note of some of the books recommended here and will be buying those asap. I'm with a traditional advisor and have gotten pretty worried that I'm not ever going to be able to retire.

One expense that I'm worried about is that of the advisor. I havent gotten any financial advice per se from them for probably a decade. Thats my fault not theirs, its my money and I should have not been so trusting. But now that I've learned a little about Vanguard I asked my current company about what my fees are and here is the info they replied with:

"Your fees are 1.1% of assets under management, and internal fees of .35% and around $20 per trade. The internal fund fees are within the mutual funds themselves and have nothing to do with us. In a nut shell it is the cost of operating the mutual fund and they all have them. They are sometimes referred to as an expense fee. You do not actually pay out the .35% (or whatever the fee is), it comes out of your return. You don’t pay this upfront. Also, trade fees are only relevant if we are changing your allocation or you are making a deposit or withdrawal. Other than that there is not much trading going on. You would have these fees at the custodian whether you traded yourself or whether we requested your trades. There is not a custodian out there that will trade for free (unfortunately)."