treasury bills 4 weeks not always available?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
rotLobster

treasury bills 4 weeks not always available?

Post by rotLobster » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:48 am

I set up an account at Fidelity to be used to park cash. I have over 100k in a checking account that pays little interest. this account has grown over the years. its main purpose is as an emergency fund and to bridge me from my current age, 66 to 70 when i will draw SS if i loose my current job.

my intent is to distribute this amongst a series of 4 week T-bills. But when i go to see what is available for the next auction, there are no 4 week tbills, only longer term buys. Im new to this so i dont quite understand. are they 'sold-out' or not issued for next week and so forth. what is the best way to keep up with the availability of t-bills and so forth.

thanks for any info.

livesoft

Re: treasury bills 4 weeks not always available?

Post by livesoft » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:52 am

A very good way is to call up Fidelity and state your questions and concerns.

You may also search on "treasury bill auction announcement site:bogleheads.org"

viewtopic.php?t=244645
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

jalbert

Post by jalbert » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:55 am

You could just put this in the Vanguard Treasury Money Market fund VUSXX and pay Vanguard 9 bp/year to manage it for you. 7-day SEC yield is 1.89% compounding to 1.91%.
Index fund investor since 1987.

asif408

Post by asif408 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:02 pm

Try this link: https://www.treasurydirect.gov/instit/i ... m?upcoming. Looks like an auction on 8/14, announcement will be 8/13.

livesoft

Post by livesoft » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:03 pm

There are many "convenient" ways to get T-bills. For instance, there are ETFs that hold only T-bills such as BIL. Fully liquid while the stock market is open. You do pay for the convenience though.