Non-US citizen with SSN living abroad, where to invest?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
jinsramen

Non-US citizen with SSN living abroad, where to invest?

Post by jinsramen » Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:06 pm

Dear All,

Complete novice to investing. Which institution (Vanguard, Fidelity, Schwab, etc.) should/could I use for long-term investment?

Details:
- non US citizen
- EU citizen
- SSN holder
- living and working in the UAE (no income tax)
- bank mostly in the US
- visit US couple times a year for weeks/months at a time

What are my options? Just opened a Fidelity account (as Vanguard has no physical branches), they told me that other than mutual funds I can buy anything and they can't advise me on my tax situation. I would appreciate any insight. Thanks a lot!

Cheers

invst65

Re: Non-US citizen with SSN living abroad, where to invest?

Post by invst65 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:01 pm

Welcome to Fidelity.

I doubt anyone is going to give you any specific advice about where to invest without more information.

There is a possibility I will be residing overseas during my retirement years (already started) so I was interested in the statement that Fidelity said you could invest in anything but Mutual Funds.

jinsramen

Post by jinsramen » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:03 pm

My question is not about "do 80% this, 20% that". Rather, should I do it with Fidelity or Vanguard?

Also, the mutual stuff part was because of the nationality, not the residentship as far as I can tell.

TedSwippet

Post by TedSwippet » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:59 pm

Welcome.

I assume below that you are not a US resident for tax purposes -- that is, you do not pass the IRS's 'substantial presence test' even when visiting for "months at a time" and do not hold a US green card. If these conditions do not hold, please update your post to reflect this.
jinsramen wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:06 pm