Looking for assistance simplifying retirement accounts

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
bradinsky

Looking for assistance simplifying retirement accounts

Post by bradinsky » Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:27 pm

<t>Good afternoon!<br/>
This is my first attempt to post anywhere on line, so I'll do my best.<br/>
My wife & I are both 65, and we are retired. We've both worked hard & done reasonable well, but I can't help but feel that if I had made better decisions, we'd be in better shape financially. That said, we have our investment accounts with Edward Jones. I feel that there is a fair amount of overlap in the accounts, it's confusing and we mostly feel abandoned by the adviser. He seems to spend most of the time hunting for new clients, and very little watching ours! I have decided to take this on myself, and forgo the adviser. The 3 fund approach looks appealing, and I am trying to learn more about it. I'll share a few details below.<br/>
<br/>
Combined monthly Social Security income is $3000.00. 2017 tax bracket was 25%. This year it will be between 18 - 22%.<br/>
Home is paid for & worth $225K. Property tax is $4200.00 yearly. No other significant bills.<br/>
We have a 1 year emergency fund & additional cash available for investing is $200K.<br/>
At Edward Jones -
Our joint accounts total $27500.00, with $175000.00 in mutual funds, $27000.00 in ETFs, $37000.00 in stocks,
$9000.00 cash & a $27000.00 annuity.
My IRAs total $242000.00 with $106000.00 in mutual funds, $75000.00 in stocks & $61000.00 in ETFs
My wife's IRAs total $95000, with $83000.00 in mutual funds & $12000.00 in EFTs.
There are about 37 mutual funds & ETFs in the above 3 accounts, and 10 individual stocks.

I appreciate any, and all of the sage advice that you may have available. Thank you!!

FiveK

Re: Looking for assistance simplifying retirement accounts

Post by FiveK » Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:36 pm

bradinsky wrote: