HSA Investment Portfolio - am I doing right?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
AHumanInterest

HSA Investment Portfolio - am I doing right?

Post by AHumanInterest » Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:13 pm

Hi all,

I am looking for a sanity check on my current HSA positions.

I am a late-twenties software engineer living in a high-cost-of-living location. I have a high-deductible insurance along with an health savings account (HSA). I also have a separate set of retirement and taxable investment accounts. This post is only about the HSA though.

My HSA is managed by HSA Bank which allows me to trade with TD Ameritrade [0]. I contribute the maximum allowable amount to the HSA each year. I intend to pay for medical expenses out of my taxable income while using HSA for retirement health issues. For this account I'd like to be somewhat more conservative. The other investment accounts are already quite aggressive. I also want to make use of the fact that this account is triple-tax-free.

My current positions are:
  • Symbol - Qty - Percent - Net Expense Ratio
  • SPAB - 20.05 - 0.04%
  • SPEM - 20 - 0.11%
  • SPTM - 271.154 - 0.03%
  • VTI - 10 - 0.04%

Cash in HSA Bank: $2000
Cash in TD: $187

Am I doing this right? Are there obvious changes I should make?

Note that I don't particularly enjoy managing money and would be willing to take a small reduction in return in order to avoid having to constantly deal with this.

[0] Devenir is another other option but appears to only have high cost actively managed funds.

asif408

Re: HSA Investment Portfolio - am I doing right?

Post by asif408 » Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:51 pm