Newbie question

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Mjs97

Newbie question

Post by Mjs97 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:37 pm

I am very new at this Investment scene, and want to run a couple ?'s by you gurus. I am 39 and have Roth and Simple IRA's setup through my business. My partner and I are the owners and have the company setup as an s-corp. We have few other employees as well. We have our retirement setup through Edward Jones. I understand this is not the best option however it seemed right when we set it up years back. I am currently maxing my roth and maxing my simple ira, the company matches 3%. I am wanting to invest more on top of these and need some advice. I am thinking of setting up a vanguard account that I will invest my after tax dollars in on my own. The way I understand it, I can't invest anymore pretax dollars, so this seems to be my only option. I think my advisor has my other accounts at 40% stocks and 60% mutual funds. I would appreciate any input anyone is willing to share. Remember I am new, so please take it easy on me. I have been overdue on learning more about investing and feel now is the time. Thanks

ExitStageLeft

Re: Newbie question

Post by ExitStageLeft » Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:54 pm

Mjs97 wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:37 pm