New, Self-Employed and Planning

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
pranaman

New, Self-Employed and Planning

Post by pranaman » Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:42 pm

Hi,

First post here, found this site from a search.

I am new to investing. I had a few stocks years ago, also a Roth IRA, funded through a mutual fund with Primerica. Spent on travel years back. Later and wiser, now I have a checking, a savings, and plain IRA with $100.

I live in SF, I'm in my later 40s, mostly self-employed, in tech. I work for a few clients, sometimes sent out on jobs via a 1099. I make around 50k, and have a couple grand I could work with.

Basically starting over, with a little old debt to sort out, and see a lot of options. Top ones that I know of are:

another Roth IRA
Index Funds
Robo-advisors
apps that do investing, like stash, acorn, robin hood
wealthfront, heard from Tim Ferriss and seen on nerdwallet.com

I am drawn to things that are considered 'green', also inventions and new tech, and among other things, thought there might be a way to invest in things like that, that are interesting to me.

Of all the options, what is the best place to start, if I wanted to invest, say $500, $1000, $5000, or some of it at a time?

danielc

Re: New, Self-Employed and Planning

Post by danielc » Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:39 pm

pranaman wrote:
Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:42 pm
another Roth IRA
Index Funds
Those two are not mutually exclusive. You can (and should) choose index funds inside your Roth IRA.
pranaman wrote:
Robo-advisors
apps that do investing, like stash, acorn, robin hood
wealthfront, heard from Tim Ferriss and seen on nerdwallet.com
I think it would be cheaper and more profitable to learn and follow the Bogleheads investment philosophy:

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Boglehe ... philosophy
https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Outline_of_indexing
https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Three-fund_portfolio
pranaman wrote: