First Portfolio Ever (Australian ETFs)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
LongHaulLou

First Portfolio Ever (Australian ETFs)

Post by LongHaulLou » Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:06 pm

Hi everyone,

I am really new to the investment game and been reading a lot to get myself educated but still have lots to learn! I'm in a place where I am comfortable I understand enough to start investing with an initial $5K, but I would love some advice/feedback on the following portfolio and whether this looks like a good mix. A bit about me first:

My husband and I are 36 and live in South Australia, with 1 small child. We have a fairly high risk tolerance I would say, our approach is to invest regularly, and continuously, slow and steady wins the race, not looking to 'time' the market. We'll be saving money to purchase more ETF's probably quarterly, to save on trading costs - although I would love a 'set and forget' arrangement where I can BPAY an amount every fortnight as well and slowly grow our portfolio, I'm just worried about fees being too high to achieve this, in which case I'm happy to manage myself on a quarterly basis. Funds will be left alone for at least 10 years, as we add to our portfolio the idea is for that to supplement superannuation that we could access before retirement age if we choose, or to pay for things like private school fees. No particular home bias and there is a small chance in the future we may live in the US. I like ETF's for their ability to offer diversification with low fees. We have balanced super option funds with decent regular contributions. Don't own our own home yet, but looking to purchase in the next two years, keeping cash for that in a high interest savings account given the short time frame. We have $20k saved for an emergency fund in a high-interest account.

The portfolio allocation we've proposed so far looks like this:
VGS - 35% - Vanguard MSCI Index International Shares