Portfolio Help for a Teacher

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
dillybar1999

Portfolio Help for a Teacher

Post by dillybar1999 »

Thank you in advance for your help!

I am a 39m year old teacher 20 years from retirement. The breakdown is as follows:

Emergency fund: 3 months

Debt: mortgage-owe 94000, worth 155000, I add another 300-400 to the mortgage each month; no other debt

Tax: single

Tax rate: 25% federal and 3% Illinois state tax

39 years old

Asset allocation: 60% stock, 40% bond

International allocation: not sure here-should it be 50% of stocks?

Current Portfolio:

Taxable
40% Vanguard Prime Money Market Fund (VMMXX) (.24%)
20% Vanguard Short-Term Investment-Grade Bond Fund (VFSTX)
(.21%)
40% Vanguard Total Stock Market Fund (VTSMX) (.15%)

Total-
$20,000 dollars

Roth IRA
100% Vanguard Star Fund (VGSTX) (.32%)

Total-
25,000 dollars

Note: All totals rounded and accurate as of Oct. 11th. P.S.-Of course the amounts were much high two weeks ago.

Pension through work: I put 9% in, no choice where month goes. At this time I will be receiving about 65-70% of my last three year average salary when I retire in 20 years. Right now that is about $75,000-$80,000 a year so I should get about $50,000 a year starting in 20 years and it will be for the rest of my life. Unfortunately, social security, which I put in for almost 20 years, will apparently be lessened as a result of this pension.

Annual contributions: I plan to put about $700 to $1000 a month into my taxable account and $450 roughly to fund the Roth IRA each month.

Questions:

I want to re-balance this weekend. I'm one to plan thoroughly and sit back and leave alone. I've had my Roth IRA for 6 years and the Star fund has been the only fund in the account. I've read much over the years, but would still appreciate some advise.

I'm debating if I should add Tips (VIPSX), Reits (VGSIX), FTSE All-World ex-US Index (VFWIX)?