Tax-deductible 403b vs. taxable Vanguard ETF

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
whompy

Tax-deductible 403b vs. taxable Vanguard ETF

Post by whompy » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:37 am

I cannot figure out how to do the math to figure out the answer to my question: Should I continue to contribute to my 403b since contributions are tax-deductible, or should I take that money instead, and purchase ETFs from Vanguard on a monthly basis? The issue is the expense fee with the 403b. I am currently paying 2.5% fees for the 403b- not outrageously high, but it is high. The ETFs I would buy from Vanguard have extremely low fees: VIG is .08%, VHT is .10%, VTI is .04%, and MGK is .07%. The 403b is NOT a roth 403b. My employer does NOT match anything.

I already max out my regular IRA with Vanguard, so I am putting an additional $300/month into the 403b. I am a teacher in Illinois. Tax rates are federal: 22%, State: 4.95%. My goal is to retire in 15 years. If Illinois' finances completely fall apart and my teacher pension suffers, my retirement plans may be.... altered.

So is it worth it to keep the higher-fee 403b since my contributions are tax-deductible, or should I stop the 403b and invest that money in the low-cost ETFs? How to do the math?

Thanks for your help!

Artsdoctor

Re: Tax-deductible 403b vs. taxable Vanguard ETF

Post by Artsdoctor » Thu Jul 05, 2018 1:09 pm

Actually, I think that your 403k fees truly are "outrageously high." It wasn't long ago that a lot of people had fees like this but fees have come down substantially over the past 5 years. Usually, fees are related to the number of employees in the plan but with a school, I can't believe your fees would be this high since I'm sure there are many participants.