"Never time the market" vs. lump sum investment

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
bonzai

"Never time the market" vs. lump sum investment

Post by bonzai »

Hi,

I understand the concept of "Never try to time the market" - however, in my particular situation I believe it's not applicable - and would like to hear what you have to say about it. I have zero experience in investing, but I'm a quick learner and I intend to begin soon.

My situation is - I have a 7 figure sum to invest, at a single time - and I think the best way to do it, is to somehow wait for the next "market crash" (which seems to happen every few years?) - understand when I'm in this situation, and then perform the buy.

Other than that - I plan on making smaller monthly investments - in which case I agree with the "Never try to time the market" concept fully and can perform such investments automatically / without waiting on a periodic basis.

• What are your thoughts about his?
  • Am I making some mistake or do you agree that for a large one-lump-sum investment, it does make sense to time the market?
  • If it does make sense, do you have any practical advise as to how to do this - to detect a crash (and not a single day lapse), and quickly-enough perform a buy of ETF/MT?
vineviz

Re: "Never time the market" vs. lump sum investment

Post by vineviz »

The reason people say “don’t try to time the market” is because it’s impossible.

It’s not a question of whether your situation calls for it, or even if how smart you are. It’s just not a thing that you can do.

The best thing you can do is to choose the right asset allocation and just invest it.

Next best would be to invest as much of it in that allocation as you bring yourself to do, and average the rest in over (say) 12 months.

If you do anything else, imho, you’ll be acting as your own worst enemy.