Target Date Fund in Taxable / Large Unrealized Gain Question

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
FootballFan5548

Target Date Fund in Taxable / Large Unrealized Gain Question

Post by FootballFan5548 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:58 am

I found this forum a little over a year ago and it has been a tremendous help in getting my financial affairs in order. I can't thank all of you enough, and I don't think a day (or a few days) go by without me checking in for a few minutes.

Current income in NJ is roughly $275k, so not sure exact tax bracket but probably 25%?
Married, 2 kids, roughly $900k invested, half taxable / half tax protected 401k/IRA

My question:
Before I found this forum as an investing newbie I had an automatic investment plan on Capital One Investing to buy every 2 weeks (corresponding with my paycheck) portions of VFORX (Vanguard Target Retirement 2040). I was doing this since roughly 2014 and accumulated to date roughly $70k in VFORX in my taxable account. There are now roughly $11k in unrealized long term gains. Note - since finding this forum a year ago I haven't contributed any new money to VFORX and have switched automatic contributions to VTSAX. I max 401k, backdoor roths for wife and I, and contribute to 529's etc...

Specific to Target Date Funds in taxable, and in my situation having 11k of LTG's in Taxable.. should I:
1. Sell it all immediately and reallocate to my 80/20 AA and bite the bullet on tax (what would that tax bill be roughly?)
2. Sell bits and pieces (mainly on down days) to limit tax bill over the course of a couple of years
3. Hold it, don't do anything for now, and deal with it down the road? Just how bad is holding this in taxable in my situation?

VFORX is currently my 2nd largest holding of all funds that I own... the looming tax bill is a concern and trying to figure out how best to handle it.

Thanks for thoughts

bradpevans