Life Strategy Growth Fund, Target Fund, or Total Stock Market

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
jonbkray

Life Strategy Growth Fund, Target Fund, or Total Stock Market

Post by jonbkray » Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:08 am

Hello all,

I'm a 30 years old teacher in NY. I currently invest 10% of my paycheck into a Tax Deferred Annuity where I get 7% on my money at retirement. I also put in $200 a month into my vanguard account into the Target Date 2035 fund (Vanguard Target Retirement 2035 Fund (VTTHX).

I was advised into indexing after reading "The Millionaire Teacher" and the John Bogle's books. Also, in the Intelligent Investor I read about the recommendation of your age in bonds, and the rest in stocks would be a good place to be- so for me that would be 30% allocation in bonds and 70% in stocks (which is why I chose the Target Fund 2035- and also because it has international stock and bonds).

Should I keep investing in this fund, or would I be better off going with the Life Strategy Growth fund as it seems to be making better growth? I have about $4,500 right now in my Vanguard account. Also, I thought about just putting it all into the Total Stock Market fund, but then I'd have no exposure to International stocks, or any bonds.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

SoCalT

Re: Life Strategy Growth Fund, Target Fund, or Total Stock Market

Post by SoCalT » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:30 pm

Is the Vanguard account you have a regular taxable account or a IRA? I ask because having corporate bonds in a taxable account (even as a portion of a mutual fund like target retirement) will give you more taxable income.

Target Retirement is nice because it's a one and done fund, no need to get too complicated. But a 3 fund portfolio you can rebalance as needed isn't too much harder. Again though, knowing what kind of account you're putting this money in is important.

maj