One IRA contribution was non-deductible, but no records

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
GrowthSeeker

One IRA contribution was non-deductible, but no records

Post by GrowthSeeker » Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:11 am

Hello all, I am new to Bogleheads looking to reorganize my finances that are spread among half a dozen taxable and half a dozen IRA accounts. But before getting into all that complexity, I have a simple question to start with.
I am 65, retired, with about one quarter of one percent of my IRA money having been non-deductible (no Roth accounts). Or so I think. It was in 1986 when the IRS changed the rules so that if you were covered by an employer pension, you could still contribute to the IRA but it had to be with post-tax dollars. So I think a made a $2,000 non-deductible, after tax, IRA contribution just once, probably in '86 or '87. But I don't have tax records for that year. I will assume that my accountant filed correctly that year, but there has been no Form 8606 filed in recent years keeping track of that remote one-time contribution.

In my mind, the pain of paying double taxation on such a small amount of money is much smaller than the pain of having to file an extra form and calculate the percent moving forward once I start taking RMDs in 5 or 6 years, and then repeating the headache every year for the rest of my life. My back of the envelope calculations suggest I'll be overpaying my taxes by about $20/year.

Questions: