Best use for a $2k raise for a middle-income teacher

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Operon

Best use for a $2k raise for a middle-income teacher

Post by Operon » Tue May 29, 2018 2:03 pm

Hey Bogleheads. Firstly, thanks for existing. I devoured the contents of bogleheads.org the minute I graduated from college, and I give the BH community a lot of credit for many of my decisions that have worked out well for me. Despite my income a few standard deviations lower than the discussion board average (started out earning $31k/year, have managed to double that over 10 years of work) I’ve been able to sleep well at night, feeling confident that I was making frugal, practical decisions that would help me to weather future hardships. I’m never going to be making the bank that a lot of people here do, but I’m very content with what I’ve got, and recognize how fortunate I am compared to most Americans. You can’t put a price on not having to worry that you’re one bad catalytic converter away from ruin.

That being said, my question: Am I sufficiently on-track for retirement that I’d be better off putting a $2000 raise towards intermediate or emergency fund savings than into a 457?

Current Profile:

Emergency fund: 5 months funded. Bucket 1 is $2k in low-interest highly-accessible savings account, Bucket 2 is $8.5k in .1% fixed rate I bonds and $5600 in 4% EE bonds. The EEs start maturing next year, considering converting to more I bonds as they do - open to suggestions but that's not my main purpose here today.
Debt: Mortgage 30-year fixed at 4.25%, PITI ~$980/month, $108k principal and 23 years left, final mortgage payment will be 2 months after retirement and final paycheck. Car 5-year fixed at 1.74%, 4 years left, $288/month. Home improvement loan at 0%, 3 years left, $195/month.
Tax filing status: Single
Tax rate: 22% federal, 5.1% state
State of residence: MA