Help with private stock options!

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
financeidiot

Help with private stock options!

Post by financeidiot » Wed May 16, 2018 11:26 am

Hi, all! I appreciate your help and insights in advance!

I've changed employment and moved to a startup where I work as a contractor with a guaranteed salary of $120k for 1 year. That startup has now purchased and merged with another company. I know at some point in the next two weeks, I will be presented with three options and must select one of the following:
1. Stay a contractor with my current salary through the duration of my 1 year contract ($120k per year). Nothing changes, I continue to work for my contracting company, and we evaluate continued employment at the new company at the end of the year.
2. Become an employee of the new company with the same salary ($120k per year). There will be no issues leaving my current contractor company to work for this employer.
3. Become an employee of the new company with a lower salary according to some kind of sliding scale of salary for equity (most likely stock options).

I believe the new company has tremendous growth and loss potential (high risk, high reward). However, I've never owned part of a private business before, nor have I ever been offered or evaluated the worth of stock options.