What to do about withdrawal this year if market doesn't go up?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Flymore

What to do about withdrawal this year if market doesn't go up?

Post by Flymore » Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:49 pm

I'm new to making retirement withdrawals from my 401k.
This year is looking like 2015, where the market only went up 1%.
Unlike others on the board, I need to withdraw some from my 401k as my pension is only 6000 a year and I need 50k.
I see three options, first withdrawal from principle, 2nd pull some from the emergency fund or a mix of both, cancel vacations(they'll still be a shortfall)?
Don't plan on leaving an inheritance.

Not an immediate concern, just looking ahead.
Thanks.

AlohaJoe

Re: What to do about withdrawal this year if market doesn't go up?

Post by AlohaJoe » Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:55 pm

Flymore wrote:
Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:49 pm
first withdrawal from principle
Do this. Even if the market went up 10% wouldn't you need to withdraw from principle? I'm a little confused about what the market going up or down has to do with it. If you don't get enough from interest + dividends then you need to make up the shortfall somewhere else. For most people that is: withdraw from principle.
2nd pull some from the emergency fund or a mix of both
Is "the market went up but only a little" your definition of an "emergency"? (It might be, I don't know what you created the emergency fund for. Is this one of the emergencies it was created for?)
cancel vacations(they'll still be a shortfall)?
If you cancel vacations every time the market doesn't go up 10% you are likely to have few vacations in retirement.

BogleMelon

Post by BogleMelon » Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:57 pm

I think you need to provide some more information:
- How much you have in emergency fund?
- What is your desired overall asset allocation? and is the stocks/bonds you are holding right now meets that allocation?