How can I Invest 4 million dollars to earn 120k (inflation adjusted) a year for life?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
notcisko

How can I Invest 4 million dollars to earn 120k (inflation adjusted) a year for life?

Post by notcisko » Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:40 am

Hi guys, I'm new to investing and would really appreciate some feedback on how I can achieve my goals with the least amount of risk possible.

I'm' 37, no debt, will have about 4 million (maybe 5 to 6) to invest within the next year, and emergency cash fund of around 250k to 400k. I do not plan on working anymore, so this will need to provide all my income on a steady basis.

The goals I would like to achieve are:
1: Receive at least 100k to $120k (inflation adjusted) a year for the rest of my life.
2: Not have to sell more than 2% of my investment per year.
3: Have my investment grow by at least 6% a year on average, over my lifetime. (after I draw the 1% to 2%.)
4. Be as hands-off, passive and simple as possible.
5. Be as safe for the long term as possible.
6: Take the smallest tax hit possible in the process.
7. Be somewhat crash proof for the next 5 years.

Of course I am flexible on all parameters, but that is what I would like to reach ideally.

From my limited research it seems like historically, investing all of it in VTSAX would be a good long term solution. The dividends would put me around 80k a year on a 4 million investment, so I would need to draw 1% per year to reach the 120k. In the future to keep up with inflation I could withdraw up to 2%.

However given the current market conditions, I do have real concerns that the market will not continue to perform so well over the next decade. If this is the case, what would be a safer option to reach my goals in the face of a looming market crash and/or decade long downturn and/or excessive inflation?