Annuity w guaranteed 5-6% return [payout]?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Ikigai

Annuity w guaranteed 5-6% return [payout]?

Post by Ikigai » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:27 pm

A friend told me recently he & his wife bought an annuity with a guaranteed 5-6% return. I'm not an annuity expert, but I thought if the current rates are really low, its a bad time to buy an annuity. How can the annuity company make any money and guarantee that kind of return? Did my friend pay too much? Is the annuity company starting the payout really low so the yearly 5-6% increase works out mathematically? Thanks for helping me understand this. :confused

deltaneutral83

Re: Annuity w guaranteed 5-6% return?

Post by deltaneutral83 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:30 pm

Principal is probably gone.

Sandtrap

Post by Sandtrap » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:31 pm

Last edited by Sandtrap on Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Edward Joseph

Post by Edward Joseph » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:36 pm

It's probably a deferred VA with an Income Rider. The 5-6% is most likely applied to their Income Base and not to the contract value. The Income Base is what their payout percentage is based off of.

If they want to walk away after the CDSC is up, they walk with whatever the contract value is. The contract value is probably just based on normal market participation. If they walk away, they surrender the Income Base value that grew by 5-6%.

wolf359

Post by wolf359 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:44 pm

Check out immediate annuities (http://immediateannuities.com) and get a price quote. Depending upon their age and terms, it is possible to get a 5-6% return.