Help with Stepfather's annuity

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
MrMojoRisin

Help with Stepfather's annuity

Post by MrMojoRisin » Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:22 pm

My mother and stepfather have moved to an assisted living center. My SF has dementia and I hold Power of Attorney for him as well as my mother. His niece is a co-POA with me but lives out of state, we communicate frequently and we are in agreement on issues pertaining to her uncle.

My mother and I are trying to get his financial affairs in order but my mother is also struggling with cognitive problems. She is aware of this.

My SF has an annuity worth approximately 125K. Mom has told me that it about to come due, whatever that means.

I have no experience with annuities. What I would like to do is put these funds to his best use. He has a long term care policy that should begin to pay for his care as soon as the exclusionary period is over. Once the LTC kicks in I plan on banking his Social Security and a modest pension into a local trust company that will run his books for him. His only other expenses, that I can foresee, will be some medical and Rx type costs and minor costs shared with my mother for cable tv and phone and personal consumables such at toiletries. The LTC has a pretty decent lifetime max that stands a good chance of outlasting him. In the event it does not the money his collected SS, Pension and annuity will have to cover the costs. These may increase if he has to go to a memory care center.

What questions should I ask of the annuity company, Allainz? How can I put this money to work for him with the least tax burden? I have full financial powers to invest for him as we (his niece is co-POA but lives out of state) see fit.

The contact with Allainz tells me it is a "MasterDex 5 Plus" product. It is single premium.

Thanks for any advice....I'm all ears..

FiveK

Re: Help with Stepfather's annuity