Help needed before I go mad :D

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Oneworld82

Help needed before I go mad :D

Post by Oneworld82 » Sat Mar 24, 2018 2:08 pm

Hi all,

this is my very first post on this forum - and honestly, I wish I found this site earlier on! I decided to post because this last week the markets left me rattled to say the least: I thought I was being smart and bought FB stocks at $168, only to see them plunge to $159 and perhaps making even a worse decision: sell them. Long story short, I have been investing for about 2 years now - until January I had a number of mutual funds through Fidelity that earned me returns around 19%... until the January crash.

As newbie investor used to see my money only grow in the past two years, I panicked, and I sold my funds, losing about 5% of the total value of my investments after recapturing part of it in the subsequent weeks. As I tried to rebalance my allocations too quickly, I incurred in roundtrip violations, which got me banned from Fidelity until May (only funds trading). So I resorted to ETF's, which left me 1% ahead... until this week. FB and other stocks let me with a 5% loss since the January crash (can we call it so?), ~10% for the year. I currently have 56k in my fidelity account, all stocks.

Let me tell you something about myself:

- Mid-30s; wife in mid-20s
- Combined annual income of ~200k in TX
- Some student debts (gone by November 2018) and mortgage (3.75%), car loans
- Able to comfortably save ~4k a month that I try to invest in my fidelity account.

I have a 401(k) with around 93k in it (my wife just started one) to which I contribute 10% of my salary plus 5.5% of employer match, and a Roth IRA with only 3k, plus we have just started funding a 529 college savings account where we put $200 a month for daughters.