Simple investment plan for 80 yr old in assisted living?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
guywhogetsit

Post by guywhogetsit » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:48 pm

I'm a newbie/lurker here so I hope its ok to ask for this level of help and that I've provided sufficient but not overwhelming detail.

I need some help constructing and maintaining a very simple investment plan for my 80 year old Aunt who, due to developing dementia, has moved to assisted living and I've taken on her financial affairs.

For assets, she is starting with $685k in non-tax advantaged savings and $200k in IRAs. She does not have substantial unrealized capital gains so investing is very flexible.

I'm leaning towards:
. Maintain $30k in moneymarket to pay monthly bills
. invest $655k in a non-tax advantaged target date fund or 4 fund portfolio at about 30/70 stock/bond split.
. invest $200k in tax advantaged target date fund or 4 fund portfolio at about 50/50 stock/bond split.
. Direct RMD, interest and dividends from all accounts to money market
. Each month draw a % set and adjusted each year from non-tax advantaged account to maintain about $30k cash in MM account (allowing some monthly fluctuation). I'd start at 7.5% annual/12 = .625% monthly = 49K 1st year.
. Shift to same approach using her tax advantaged account once regular savings depleted

More info if helpful:
I need to generate about $50k per year from interest, dividends and principle to cover her expenses above Social Security. It's awkward/difficult to predict but aiming to make her savings last 10-15 years. I'm not really prioritizing advice on this - mainly looking for a simple, conservative model portfolio based on following assets:
. about $320k (36% of assets) in cash and some CDs maturing over next 10 months (includes recent sale of home)