New to Investing - Portfolio help please

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Yeti

New to Investing - Portfolio help please

Post by Yeti » Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:50 am

Hello everyone! I’ve been digging through posts for a few months now while reading some of the books suggested in the Boglehead’s library. I’m still very new to investing (started earlier this year) and I appreciate any help/comments/suggestions you have to offer.

Emergency funds = Yes, currently sitting @ 3.0% in a savings account.

Debt: Mortgage

Tax Filing Status: Single

Tax Rate: 25% Federal / 6.45% Kansas

Desired Asset allocation: (95/5)

Portfolio: 5 Figures

Taxable
41% Vanguard Total Stock Market Index (VTSMX) (0.15%)
27% Mid-Cap Index (VIMSX) (0.21%)

Roth at Vanguard
32% Target Retirement 2050 (VFIFX) (0.21%)

Comments:
1. I am eligible for my company’s SIMPLE IRA after this year. They place 6% of my salary into this IRA w/ no match required. I'll have pleanty of questions concerning this at a later date.

Questions:
1. I would like to get more exposure in the area of Small caps, possibly NAESX? Should I trade my Mid-Cap for this fund even though the VIMSX is down quite a bit this year?
2. I’ve read in a few places that if you have a Target fund in a tax deferred account, like I have, you really don’t want VTSMX in a taxable account because of overlapping. I understand that the VFIFX has the VTSMX inside of it but is it all that bad to have a little more? Better options out there?
3. I’d like to add an international fund to my portfolio, recommendations?

ruralavalon

Re: New to Investing - Portfolio help please

Post by ruralavalon » Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:26 pm

Yeti wrote:
Desired Asset allocation: (95/5)

Taxable
41% Vanguard Total Stock Market Index (VTSMX) (0.15%)
27% Mid-Cap Index (VIMSX) (0.21%)

Roth at Vanguard
32% Target Retirement 2050 (VFIFX) (0.21%)

Questions: