Selling American Funds? (help, please)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
jebediahyoder

Selling American Funds? (help, please)

Post by jebediahyoder » Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:17 am

Hello,

This is my first post on the forum. I am relatively new to investing (25 years old); for my first couple of years out of college, I worked with a financial advisor. In August 2017, this person recommended investing a sizable chunk of money (for me at least - $23K) in American Funds Balanced (F-1 share / BALFX). This is in a taxable account.

The transaction made sense to me at the time; now, though, I've realized that there may be a better, lower-cost fund, with similar allocation style. Specifically, I've been looking at VBINX as an alternative. I have three questions I'm hoping for input on:

1.) Does the switch from BALFX to VBINX seem like a sensible one? They seem to have similar allocation & performance, but VBINX has a much lower expense cost & lower turnover/tax cost.

2.) Do you think that the gain from switching to a different fund would be worth the amount I would have to pay in taxes (on the BALFX sale)?

3.) I am looking at holding about 50% of my savings in a mutual fund with 60% stocks/40% bonds allocation. Does that seem too conservative?

Please let me know if any other information is required to answer these questions. Thank you in advance for your time.

TwstdSista

Re: Selling American Funds? (help, please)

Post by TwstdSista » Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:30 pm

1. Sure it seems sensible, if it works for your situation. There may be better options we could help you with if you post your entire portfolio.

2. You will owe taxes on the gains from the sold fund. So if you bought it for $15k and it is now worth $23k, you would owe taxes on $8k. The rate you pay will depend on if these are long term (held for greater than 1 year) or not.

3. It depends. What is the purpose of your savings?

jebediahyoder