Help w/457(b) Plan

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
StubbornAndFearful

Help w/457(b) Plan

Post by StubbornAndFearful » Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:51 pm

Updated: I edited since I mistakenly wrote 403 rather than 457 in (1) below. Apologies, I'm dealing with both plans at the moment, but it's the 457 plan that it causing the headache right now.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to 457 plans. I've read several threads on these forums, as well as done reading elsewhere and I've noted that a major consideration is whether the plan is governmental or non-governmental; I'm concerned about putting my contributions at risk.

Now, my university (a large state university) offers its employees a 457(b) plan through Empower Retirement. However, the information on the plan is scarce; I've scoured the website and there is a small "highlights" document which is quite vague. In particular, I cannot determine whether the plan is governmental or non-governmental.

I've emailed and spoken by phone with two different representatives. When asked about this issue:

(1) My email contact stated that the 457(b) means it is automatically a government plan. However, my reading at the IRS site is there can be 457(b) non-governmental plans: ``Non-governmental 457(b) (“Top Hat”) plans must limit participation to groups of highly compensated employees ...", so this seems like a bogus answer.

(2) My phone contact at Empower Retirement told me he doesn't know. When I queried whether my contributions are held in trust and protected from creditors in the case of bankruptcy, he told me that would be information that I would need to consult a lawyer to get the answer to this question.

So, I'm confused at this point. Am I not asking the right question? Is my language incorrect? Or have I just been unlucky in my dealings with this company?