Help With Rolling Over Retirement Trust

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
pnwmom

Help With Rolling Over Retirement Trust

Post by pnwmom » Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:15 pm

I am totally new to investing since my previous Employer managed a Retirement Trust for their employees. I left my job a year ago to pursue my photography which has taken off. I received a letter from my former employer that I must elect to roll over to an Ira or take the money. I have met with one broker and he was ready to get a account going and call my previous employer and sign paperwork. I was like Whoa um I need to discuss this with my husband first. First of all I was shocked at the amount they charged for a account yes it was Edward Jones :( Then he was like apologizing he said no you can think about it. I felt like I was at a car dealership. So, I have been researching until my head hurts. I am leaning towards Vanguard are there any suggestions on what to invest in? I am 51 and I have 200,000 to invest Thank you.

David Jay

Re: Help With Rolling Over Retirement Trust

Post by David Jay » Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:40 pm

You can self-manage at any low-cost brokerage, Vanguard, Fidelity and Schwab are the most common recommendations around here. Work with the brokerage who is receiving the funds as they will be motivated to get the transfer done smoothly.

As an alternate, you can use Vanguard’s Personal Advisor Service (PAS) to get started, with just a 0.3% cost. The best part is that you can cancel at any time and they won’t hassle you about the cancellation. So use PAS while you are learning and getting comfortable with managing your portfolio then cancel when you are ready.
Prediction is very difficult, especially about the future - Niels Bohr | To get the "risk premium", you really do have to take the risk - nisiprius

David Jay

Post by David Jay » Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:46 pm