25YR old with considerable amount of cash

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
gillq41

25YR old with considerable amount of cash

Post by gillq41 » Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:42 am

Thank you all for taking the time to read my post, any input would be greatly appreciated. I am new to the investing scene, as I recently purchased "The Bogleheads Guide to Investing" but am hooked already! With that being said by knowledge on investing is limited strictly to what I've read thus far so consider me a novice.

I lost my mother this past summer and while it was the most painful experience of my life I was fortunate in that she left me a considerable amount of life insurance that I am hoping you guys can give me suggestions on how to properly invest. Her and I had a small business together which was recently sold so at the current moment I am not working but am also debt free outside the 15k I owe on my car. My goal (if its even possible) is to invest this money and be able to earn a "salary" off of the interest that I can tack onto the salary of the job I eventually get. I was speaking with my grandfather who did quite well investing (although it was years ago) and he put about 900k into different markets and was pulling out about 80k per year and pocketing it and when he was done he pulled his original 900k back out. Are scenarios like this even still possible? If so, how? I am more so focused on the short term than the long term at the current moment. However I do plan to open a Roth IRA and begin maxing it out ASAP. Please let me know what you all think, thank you in advance!

750K to invest
1 year of emergency funds
25 years old
No Mortage
15K owed on my car
Focused on short term money making

EasternSierraEph

Re: 25YR old with considerable amount of cash

Post by EasternSierraEph » Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:13 am