Transferring from Financial Advisor

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
bhinvirginia

Transferring from Financial Advisor

Post by bhinvirginia » Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:00 am

Hello,

I've been using a financial advisor for the last 15 years, traditional fee of 1% of AUM. My portfolio is now in the low seven figures, and am thinking it's time to cut down the fees. I've got 2 questions for the folks here:

1. At some point does it make sense to have a financial advisor? If I take it back over I would go with a 60/40 AA and put it in index funds for both retirement and taxable. My only hesitation is when you factor in tax planning, 529s, and other situations does having someone look over your finances make sense?

2. If I do transfer, any thoughts on Fidelity, Schwab, or Vanguard? Schwab index fees seem to be much lower than Vanguard now, with Fidelity more on par. I'm interested in a firm that makes the transfer easy and offers good tools on the website that I can use going forward.

Any thoughts are appreciated, thanks!

dbr

Re: Transferring from Financial Advisor

Post by dbr » Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:25 pm

bhinvirginia wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:00 am

1. At some point does it make sense to have a financial advisor? If I take it back over I would go with a 60/40 AA and put it in index funds for both retirement and taxable. My only hesitation is when you factor in tax planning, 529s, and other situations does having someone look over your finances make sense?