Canadian Student, total Newbie. Please could you give me some feedback?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
scully_boy

Canadian Student, total Newbie. Please could you give me some feedback?

Post by scully_boy » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:33 am

I am a Canadian student, 20 years old. I have ~12,000 in savings, and ~18,000 in student loans (liquid). The student loans money is interest-free until I graduate, which will be 3 years from now.

I am about to start a co-op job, which will add ~15,000 to my saving in 8 months.

I obviously have to pay for university. 3 years, including food/tuition/housing costs ~25,000.

I opened a TFSA (Tax-Free Savings Account) with Questrade, and was going to start with ~2000$ invested and add 100$ every month. My planned portfolio allocation is:
33% Vanguard FTSE Emerging Markets ETF (VWO)
33% Vanguard FTSE All-World ex-US ETF (VEU)
33% Vanguard Total Stock Market ETF (VTI)

These are all stocks, which is risky. However,
1. My parents serve as an 'emergency fund' at this stage in my life
2. I am investing very little, only ~6000 dollars at the end of the 3 years

Some questions:
- should I even be investing? should i be investing more?
- is it okay to be 100% in stocks? (Technically, this is just 'your age minus 20' in bonds).
- Have I picked solid ETFs? The 'emerging markets' one seemed good, but maybe I should replace it with VCN.

Very new at this -- hoping to keep it as simple as possible.

Thanks so much in advance.

Tyler Aspect

Re: Canadian Student, total Newbie. Please could you give me some feedback?

Post by Tyler Aspect » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:34 pm

TFSA:

For US and international stocks there are unavoidable dividend with-holding taxes. Maybe you want to stick with Canadian equity and Canadian bond ETF in the TFSA account.

RRSP:

US equity dividends and capital gains are tax-deferred until withdrawal, but only if held in a US based ETF such as VTI.