realized startup equity / schwab private client

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
The0s

realized startup equity / schwab private client

Post by The0s » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:48 pm

I'm 32y/o and recently realized my equity in a startup. My portfolio is now ~$3m and have access to the highest tier of schwab private client at discounted rates.

I've been bogleing for about 3 years, so I'm trying to pick apart their various slice n' dice arguments for why a 4 fund portfolio is too simple. However, schwab is pointing out many things which I do not have a rebuttal. Some examples:

1) Total stock market is underweight small cap
2) Total bond market does not have the management to deal with the risk of a rising interest rate environment
3) Total international does not have enough emerging markets
4) Emerging markets require active management due to the inefficiencies of those markets
5) International bonds is an asset class worth having
6) Tax advantaged bonds are worth having

I'm starting to doubt the bogle simplicity at this asset level.

My friends ask for advice and I usually say: for 50k - 2 fund, for 500k - 4 fund.

At this point, my (much) older friends who are 30m+ use various private client services (schwab, chase, etc). At what point does the bogle simplicity inflect to allow money managers to provide value?

What price would you pay for third party recommendations and administration of your portfolio? 20bp? 10bp? 1bp?

I have the urge to reject the 'drag' at all costs, but if I have access to the advice of people who monitor the markets all day for below market rates - am I missing the forest for the trees?

Ged

Re: realized startup equity / schwab private client

Post by Ged » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:56 pm

Do you have any evidence of the existence of an inflection point?

If there is what makes you think it's less then $3 Million? Many Bogleheads have amounts exceeding that.

alex_686